top of page

Bait Hive - Initial Sketches


 

These are the first sketches I possess of the bait hive 'concept' in progress. Having enjoyed keeping bees for four years previosuly - I decided to make them the focus of my design studies.

The baithive project started life as a University Product Design brief in February 2016 . It started as a very open ended problem space, which grew into the finished hive. As a beekeeper - I was interested in the differing opinions of Beekeepers, and the general public when it came to swarms. I launched two surveys aimed at both groups of individuals - and the volume of responses was overwhelming! I then began to design the hive following this research period - as a more elaborate version of the Wooden Swarm Lures my father has always built in our shed.

It was never my intention to launch baithive as a product, but after graduating and leaving my prototypes in the garden my father and I had allot of success catching swarms.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page